AmiRizo's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Places We Inhabit January 20, 2010

Filed under: Reading Response — AmiRizo @ 9:56 PM

I would say the place I have the most memories is at home. I’m not ashamed to say I have a bad case of homesickness right now, but I do my best to cope. This reading is about all the places we have or currently inhabit and are a part of.

The first excerpt is Our Sprawling, Supersize Utopia by David Brooks. He writes about people moving out to suburbia. He describes the type, class, and stereotypes of people you can find throughout towns. Nowadays, you can find ‘strange’ people not only in downtown or slum areas, but also right across the street from your clean-cut lawn. We all work hard everyday to paint the perfect picture of each of our own lives.

I really enjoyed reading My Ghost Town: A Vanishing Personal History by Jenny Attiyeh. Jenny and her grandfather would camp out in an adobe house in Utah when she was young. 30 years later, she finds the house “dying”. It was covered in graffiti, falling apart, and being invaded by teenagers. She didn’t realize how much she took for granted about the house and town. She still claims the house belongs to her. I can relate to this when I moved out of my old house about seven years ago. I feel heartbroken every time I pass-by it, seeing different cars parked in the front, changes in the landscaping, and new decorations. I always wish I could go inside and take one more look. To this day, I too still call it MY house.

The Comfy Chair Revolution by Glenn Reynolds was a very entertaining piece. He writes about how people are literally hooked to technology these days. We have become so dependent on it that we can barely survive a single day if our cell phone runs out of battery.

The last piece, Where the Avatars Roam by Michael Gerson, gave me some insight on how some people find different identities. I can understand to some extent why these people choose to live a “Second Life” through online virtual worlds. They want an escape from reality to be someone they are not or would like to be for a few hours. It amazed me how many smaller communities there are in every corner of the world.

 

One Response to “Places We Inhabit”

  1. danahws Says:

    I liked how you related the stories written by different authors to your own life. Just like you I feel homesick and I love the way you felt the same way Attiyeh felt when she came back to her house to find it deteriorationg and desolate. I feel the same about my house I left even though it is no longer desolate. Also you made a good summary of the Avatar article. I never thought of those who engage in the Adatar world as beings trying to find a Second life through online virtual worlds. I like your response.


Leave a Reply

