AmiRizo's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Shitty First Drafts January 8, 2010

Filed under: Reading Response — AmiRizo @ 7:17 PM

You have to start somewhere, somehow. Anne Lamont’s essay is about writing horrible first drafts. We all do them. Not a single professional writer out there can produce a complete, mistake-free, and organized product (even if they claim to do so). There is only one way to get to that final product and that is to just sit down and write whatever comes to mind.

Sometimes, what I do is look around the room I’m in and try to get some sort of inspiration. Once an idea is flowing, I’ll write anything and everything. It’s almost like word vomit, but through the hand. More often than not, I’ll have something pop into my head that I want to include later on but it doesn’t really fit into what I’m currently writing. When that happens, I write it down anyway, usually a few lines below. This has always come in handy, especially when I get stumped.

I have no shame in writing terrible first drafts. I like to think of them as skeletons of my creations. If you don’t have one, it will turn out to be Jell-O. Yes, they are not exactly the most exciting things to do, but once you accomplish it, you will be more confident and have a heading to continue your journey of writing.

 

2 Responses to “Shitty First Drafts”

  1. msinicrope Says:

    Let me start out by saying, I truly believe you made a most brilliant comparison of your first draft to a skeleton of your final one. While you have the mainstream view of writing, I live by the view of “get it done as quickly as possible so I don’t have to worry about it again until grades come back.” As you can probably tell, I don’t like writing. The least amount of work I have to do, the better. But I do admire your love and commitment to writing your papers. I’m sure yours turn out to be eloquent works of art, while mine would pass with an A+, only in a second graders hands.

  2. danahws Says:

    Great response. Bad first drafts are good. I liked the comment made that terrible first drafts are “skeletons of my creation”. That is a very descriptive, eye catching, and creative way to put your view of a terrible first draft.


Leave a Reply

